Home awards Congressional Gold Medal to police who responded to Capitol riot

The Home has voted overwhelmingly to award the Congressional Gold Medal to U.S. Capitol Police and others who responded to the Jan. 6 assault on the Capitol.

The laws handed in a 406-21 vote Tuesday, with 21 Republicans voting towards it due to the way in which the decision described the assault as an rebel.

The Home beforehand voted to award the medal but it surely acquired caught up in weeks of deliberations with the Senate over the scope of who ought to obtain the best congressional honor.

“January 6 was unquestionably one of many darkest days within the historical past of our democracy, however due to the braveness of the Capitol Police and different legislation enforcement officers, it can even be etched in historical past as a day of heroism,” Home Speaker Nancy Pelosi stated. “That day the Capitol Police drive put themselves between the violence and us. They risked their security and their lives for others with the utmost selflessness. Some died, changing into martyrs for our democracy.”

The Republicans who voted towards the decision took problem with the way it described the occasions of Jan. 6, together with calling it an assault on “the temple of our American Democracy.”

“I wouldn’t name it an rebel,” Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, Georgia Republican, advised Politico in explaining her vote towards the decision.

Rep. Paul A. Gosar, an Arizona Republican who voted towards the laws, stated earlier than the vote that Ashli Babbitt was “executed” on Jan. 6 by police who have been “mendacity in wait.”

His assertion drew a pointy response from Rep. Liz Cheney, Wyoming Republican, on Twitter.

“On January 6, because the violent mob superior on the Home chamber, I used to be standing close to @RepGosar and helped him open his fuel masks,” she stated. “The Capitol Police led us to security. It’s disgusting and despicable to see Gosar lie about that day and smear the women and men who defend us.”

The laws requires the medals to be displayed on the U.S. Capitol Police and D.C. Metropolitan Police Division Headquarters, the Smithsonian Establishment, and the Capitol.

The decision names Capitol Police Officers Brian Sicknick, Howard Liebengood and Eugene Goodman, and D.C. Metropolitan Police Division Officer Jeffrey Smith for his or her valor and sacrifices throughout and after the Jan. 6 assault.

Sicknick clashed with protesters exterior the Capitol and later collapsed on the police station and was taken to the hospital, the place he died the subsequent day. After weeks of hypothesis that the protesters induced his loss of life, the D.C. medical expert stated he died of a stroke that was the results of “pure causes.”

Liebengood was a member of the riot management staff on the Capitol on Jan. 6 and remained on obligation within the days following the assault, working lengthy shifts regardless of being severely sleep-deprived, in accordance with his widow. He died by suicide on Jan 9.

Smith was injured after being struck by a steel pole thrown by rioters. He was positioned on depart by the division due to his accidents and died by suicide on Jan 15 on his return to work.

Mr. Goodman, who was the only officer named within the Senate’s initially proposed laws, single-handedly diverted the mob from the Senate Chamber after they breached the Capitol, permitting lawmakers and employees to flee.

The invoice additionally names Capitol Police Officers William “Billy” Evans and Kenneth Shaver. Evans was killed on April 2 when 25-year-old Noah Greene intentionally drove his automotive right into a barricade exterior of the Capitol and lunged at police with a knife earlier than being fatally shot by police.

Kenneth Shaver was injured within the April 2 assault, which was not linked to the Capitol riot.

Join Every day Newsletters

Supply hyperlink